World of Warcraft

1 . 2
70
View All Posts by This User Toggle Ignore / Unignore This User
Vox
  • Black Dragonflight
  • 0. WARNING: Fake movie website is a Keylogger   04/07/2008 07:51:37 PM PDT
quote reply
this domain name WarcraftSmovies.com was registered TODAY by a chinese company. The site is duping people into visiting it thinking they are going to the legitimate warcraftmovies.com (no S after warcraft)

Blizzard, Please contact ICANN or the domain registrar and let them know this domain was registered for the specific reason of keylogging your Customers!

Also, you can save millions of dollars a year in customer service time by DISABLING all links in forum posts!

[ Post edited by Vrakthris ]

80
View All Posts by This User Toggle Ignore / Unignore This User
  • 1. Re: WARNING: WarcraftSmovies.com is a Keylogg   04/07/2008 07:55:09 PM PDT
quote reply
I think Blizzard can actually sue someone for this.

Just add wowwiki, imageshack, photobucket, to a white list. Or add goto.php to a profanity filter.

[ Post edited by Flippie ]


We do what we must because we can.
For the good of all of us.
Except the ones who are dead.
But there's no sense crying over every mistake.
You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.
Blizzard Entertainment
View All Posts by This User ignore-inactive
Vrakthris
Blizzard Poster
  • 2. Re: WARNING: WarcraftSmovies.com is a Keylogg   04/07/2008 08:01:10 PM PDT
quote reply
If you have a moment, Vox, I would recommend reporting that URL to our hacks team by using the webform below.

http://us.blizzard.com/support/hackswebform-us.xml

Thanks for the heads up.

* * * *
"Mum, Mum, Mum... I’ve been attacked by... jellyfish! Jellyfish drive by shooting, just like south central L.A.”
70
View All Posts by This User Toggle Ignore / Unignore This User
  • 3. Re: WARNING: WarcraftSmovies.com is a Keylogg   04/07/2008 08:03:01 PM PDT
quote reply
I feel bad for the folks over at the legitimate site warcraftmovies.com. Folks who get hacked are going to end up blaming them, and people will be afraid to visit the site.
80
View All Posts by This User Toggle Ignore / Unignore This User
  • 5. Re: WARNING: WarcraftSmovies.com is a Keylogg   04/07/2008 08:44:50 PM PDT
quote reply
To the OP: Thanks for sharing this info with the community. Spread the words!


Q u o t e:
People are stupid and they DO NOT think before clicking a link.


That's a bit harsh. Ignorant is a better word for it.
70
View All Posts by This User Toggle Ignore / Unignore This User
  • Scarlet Crusade
  • 6. Re: WARNING: WarcraftSmovies.com is a Keylogg   04/07/2008 08:48:53 PM PDT
quote reply

Q u o t e:
If you have a moment, Vox, I would recommend reporting that URL to our hacks team by using the webform below.

http://us.blizzard.com/support/hackswebform-us.xml

Thanks for the heads up.


Vrak, wouldn't this be a case where you would want to remove the website name from the subject line? Seems like it is the unintentional advertising you guys tend to delete.

[ Post edited by Diospyros ]

Blizzard Entertainment
View All Posts by This User ignore-inactive
Vrakthris
Blizzard Poster
  • 7. Re: WARNING: WarcraftSmovies.com is a Keylogg   04/07/2008 09:02:57 PM PDT
quote reply
Probably a good idea for the main title of the thread but since it isn't "linked" it is probably Ok to remain. It would be advertising if it was "WarcraftSmovies.com sells gold!" in this case it is a warning to those who may come across such a website link and to use caution.

* * * *
"Mum, Mum, Mum... I’ve been attacked by... jellyfish! Jellyfish drive by shooting, just like south central L.A.”
70
View All Posts by This User Toggle Ignore / Unignore This User
  • Scarlet Crusade
  • 8. Re: WARNING: WarcraftSmovies.com is a Keylogg   04/07/2008 09:08:48 PM PDT
quote reply
Ah, ok. I was curious about where the line is drawn. Thanks for clarifying.
Blizzard Entertainment
View All Posts by This User ignore-inactive
Vrakthris
Blizzard Poster
  • 9. Re: WARNING: WarcraftSmovies.com is a Keylogg   04/07/2008 09:09:48 PM PDT
quote reply

Q u o t e:
Ah, ok. I was curious about where the line is drawn. Thanks for clarifying.


Anytime. :)

* * * *
"Mum, Mum, Mum... I’ve been attacked by... jellyfish! Jellyfish drive by shooting, just like south central L.A.”
72
View All Posts by This User Toggle Ignore / Unignore This User
  • 10. Re: WARNING: WarcraftSmovies.com is a Keylogg   04/07/2008 09:09:53 PM PDT
quote reply

Q u o t e:
"WarcraftSmovies.com sells gold!"


They should do this way. Then Blizzard shouldn't restore anything.

Gold seller problem solved, and nobody's going to click on websites that sell gold anymore. =P


Q u o t e:

Q u o t e:
What's a "bwee"? 0.o

It's a sound that Belfaire's make.
56
View All Posts by This User Toggle Ignore / Unignore This User
  • 11. Re: WARNING: WarcraftSmovies.com is a Keylogg   04/07/2008 10:10:55 PM PDT
quote reply
Testing to get.char to show up on list

If im using bad spelling and grammar, it is because im posting on my ipod touch
If you feel that the april fools lulz should be permanent copy and paste this into your sig lolcats.
80
View All Posts by This User Toggle Ignore / Unignore This User
  • Lightning's Blade
  • 12. Re: WARNING: WarcraftSmovies.com is a Keylogg   04/10/2008 07:50:34 AM PDT
quote reply

Q u o t e:
Probably a good idea for the main title of the thread but since it isn't "linked" it is probably Ok to remain. It would be advertising if it was "WarcraftSmovies.com sells gold!" in this case it is a warning to those who may come across such a website link and to use caution.


GOLD?! WHERE! *goes to buy* ARGH VIRUSES OHNOES VRAK YOU TRICKED ME

Batta is in ur akkount

Stealing ur Bandagez


And the flavor of the day is: suspicious
80
View All Posts by This User Toggle Ignore / Unignore This User
  • Jaedenar
  • 13. Re: WARNING: WarcraftSmovies.com is a Keylogg   04/10/2008 09:16:17 AM PDT
quote reply

Q u o t e:


GOLD?! WHERE! *goes to buy* ARGH VIRUSES OHNOES VRAK YOU TRICKED ME



Rofl
70
View All Posts by This User Toggle Ignore / Unignore This User
  • 14. Re: WARNING: WarcraftSmovies.com is a Keylogg   04/10/2008 09:32:42 AM PDT
quote reply

Q u o t e:
That's a bit harsh. Ignorant is a better word for it.


Harsh, but accurate. Ignorance can be rectified by education. Stupid people can't or won't be educated. The vast majority of people refuse to learn how to use their computers safely, ergo, they are stupid.

 
Ooh ooh child, did you think this cold winter's gonna last forever?
Ooh ooh child, now's the time for all the people to get to get together
Outside
'Cause it's the First of May
23
View All Posts by This User Toggle Ignore / Unignore This User
  • Thorium Brotherhood
  • 15. Re: WARNING: WarcraftSmovies.com is a Keylogg   04/10/2008 09:50:08 AM PDT
quote reply
Im pretty sure that anything that happens in china is not ever going to be touched by the United States Laws, mainly because the Chinese government encourages hacking the US and will not extradite a hacker to us if they are caught, but they will hang their own people if their caught hacking a Chinese website.

no
80
View All Posts by This User Toggle Ignore / Unignore This User
  • 16. Re: WARNING: WarcraftSmovies.com is a Keylogg   04/10/2008 10:06:15 AM PDT
quote reply
Maybe CS can monitor the forums and start taking away the key loggers on just about every post.. I said that in a bad way.

Perhaps we could have some forum moderators whose primary job would be to moderate the forums. There is a key logger posted on just about every topic, and I personally know some people who have fell victim to clicking.

The warning page when you click a link does not count as moderation.

Imagine how your rage post would have changed if you didn't post immediately after your death.
71
View All Posts by This User Toggle Ignore / Unignore This User
  • Thorium Brotherhood
  • 17. Re: WARNING: WarcraftSmovies.com is a Keylogg   04/10/2008 10:09:52 AM PDT
quote reply

Q u o t e:
Maybe CS can monitor the forums and start taking away the key loggers on just about every post.. I said that in a bad way.

Perhaps we could have some forum moderators whose primary job would be to moderate the forums. There is a key logger posted on just about every topic, and I personally know some people who have fell victim to clicking.

The warning page when you click a link does not count as moderation.


The CS forum is moderated by GMs. The rest of the forums are moderated by forum moderators. Yes dedicated forum moderators. This is mainly a problem of manpower (which is harder to solve than many many posters seem to realize) in there with the number of forums there are, there are a lot of things to go through.

"Rejoice. For very bad things are about to happen." - Richard LFGComic
70
View All Posts by This User Toggle Ignore / Unignore This User
  • Shadow Council
  • 18. Re: WARNING: WarcraftSmovies.com is a Keylogg   04/10/2008 10:35:05 AM PDT
quote reply
We could simply disable links from the forums I suppose, but that would be unfair to the non-retards who don't click the keyloggers.
70
View All Posts by This User Toggle Ignore / Unignore This User
  • 19. Re: WARNING: WarcraftSmovies.com is a Keylogg   04/10/2008 10:42:32 AM PDT
quote reply

Q u o t e:
We could simply disable links from the forums I suppose, but that would be unfair to the non-idiots who don't click the keyloggers.


Quite frankly, I think it's a good idea. The idiots won't be able to follow any links, thereby saving them from themselves, while the smart people would be able to copy and paste a URL to go to a site posted by someone else.

It's kinda like an IQ test for links.

[ Post edited by Gnoway ]


 
Ooh ooh child, did you think this cold winter's gonna last forever?
Ooh ooh child, now's the time for all the people to get to get together
Outside
'Cause it's the First of May
1 . 2
Forum Nav : Jump To This Forum
Blizzard Entertainment